Let’s talk about lash primer.

Rumor on the street is that Urban Decay has a new primer to go with its new mascara. Could it unseat my holy grail primer?

The team to beat: Diorshow Maximizer.

I spent about six weeks as a freelancer for Dior and the kindest version of the story is to say the best thing about it was the sample of the Diorshow Maximizer lash primer I was given. Before, I had only used your typical “every brand has one” primers.

“How special could it be?” I scoffed scoffily.

Apparently, very.
Ridiculously.

The majority of lash primers in the cosmetic wild are conditioning (of course) and lengthening. Dior’s does that, but it also thickens like the dickens. I was so impressed, I bought a full-size tube when my sample ran out–and I just keep on buying it. When I wear it with my favorite mascara (Le Volume de Chanel), my lashes are otherworldly. I still love falsies because, well, duh, but on days I don’t have time for glue, this one-two punch delivers quite nicely indeed.

Urban Decay has not impressed me over the last *looks at watch* 15 years or so with their mascara offerings, but the market has gotten tougher and their brand has become a bit of a powerhouse in its own right. If they are truly going all the way with this new Perversion launch of blacker than black liner and mascara offerings, I have high hopes for this attempt at mascara/primer domination. All the descriptions coming out make it sound like the new mascara and especially the new primer will be trying to give my favorites a real challenge.

Here’s to hoping–I don’t get a discount at Dior or Chanel either one!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by The Sartorial Coquette on July 16, 2014 at 2:41 am

    omg the dior primer sounds amazing!! i have to try it now 😉 thanks so much for posting about this 🙂
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    Reply

  2. I’ve never used a lash primer before but definitely want to give one a go after reading this! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Abi x
    http://www.brooksmakeup.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

